Community Services

Business Research & Workforce Development

Whether you are an existing business in Mississippi interested in expanding or a new company evaluating our state for a potential new location, our team is available to work with you on a confidential basis to provide detailed site and business information. We work closely with economic development partners around the state including communities and utility partners to provide all the information that you need in a timely manner.

Global Companies Call Mississippi Home

Mississippi welcomes international investment from around the world and is home to over 200 global firms, including Continental Tire, Toyota, Nissan, ABB and Rolls Royce. Top investing countries include Japan, Canada, Germany, France and Switzerland. The state’s strong business climate, productive workforce and competitive costs of doing business all combine to make the state an ideal location for businesses from a variety of industry sectors- from automotive to aerospace to advanced manufacturing.

Mississippi is committed to competing on a global scale for investment and jobs. The Business Development team would welcome the opportunity to work with your company on a confidential and cost-free basis to evaluate options for establishing a new location in Mississippi.

Expansion & Retention

The Expansion and Retention team is here to support our existing businesses throughout the State. Our team works closely with you and our local economic development partners and utilities to provide incentives, workforce training and other resources and programs needed for your long-term success.

Recruitment of New Business

Our Business Development team works with new businesses interested in evaluating the state for a new location. Our team can assist you in understanding the business climate in the state and guide you through the site location process. A project manager is assigned to each project as a single point of contact and can provide confidential and cost-free services including information on shovel ready sites and buildings, detailed community data on labor availability and costs as well as financial incentives customized to your project.

Workforce Development

Mississippi’s workforce system provides comprehensive services to meet employers’ needs. From recruitment to post-employment training, our system is designed to be flexible and customizable to ensure the delivery of the skilled workforce required for a company’s success.

Headquartered in Mississippi. Known around the world.

Sanderson Farms
Howard Industries
Viking Range
CF Industries
Peavey Electronics Corporations

Business Research & Workforce Development Team

Our Business Research & Workforce Development Team supports the state’s businesses through a variety of marketing, information, and technical assistance programs to our Mississippi industries. 

Phone: 601.359.3593
Toll-free: 800.360.3323
Fax: 601.359.2116

Bill Cork , Chief Economic Development Officer
601.359.5769       bcork@mississippi.org

Tracey Giles , Deputy Chief of Economic Development
601.359.9342       tgiles@mississippi.org

Gena Lentz , Director of Foreign Investment
601.359.2907       glentz@mississippi.org

Valerie Crout , Manager, Special Programs
601.359.2939       vcrout@mississippi.org

Jenell Robinson , Administrative Assistant
601.359.6602       jrobinson@mississippi.org

Project Managers

Joey Roberts , Project Manager
601.359.2374       jroberts@mississippi.org

Thomas McElroy , Project Manager
601.359.9278       tmcelroy@mississippi.org

Sara Doss , Project Manager
601.359.1220       sdoss@mississippi.org

Daniel Lang , Project Manager
601.359.1995       dlang@mississippi.org

Ross Ivey , Project Manager
601.359.2900       rivey@mississippi.org

Gabriella Nuzzo , Project Manager
601.359.6645       gnuzzo@mississippi.org

Erin Gordon , Project Manager
601.359.2602       egordon@mississippi.org

Business Research

Bill Ashley , Director of Business Research & Workforce Development
601.359.3040       bashley@mississippi.org

Maureen Murphy , Research Specialist/Buildings & Sites
601.359.2844       mmurphy@mississippi.org

Deloise Tate , Research Specialist/New & Expanded Industry Reports
601.359.2990       dtate@mississippi.org

Caleb Ross , Research Specialist
601.359.2941       cross@mississippi.org

Mary Ann Myers , Workforce Specialist
601.359.2677       mmyers@mississippi.org

Katherine Lanford , Workforce Specialist
601.359.9513       klanford@mississippi.org

International Investment Offices

MDA’s international investment offices support the state’s global investment attraction efforts and assist investors in understanding the current business climate in the state. Representatives are located in Japan and Korea.

Japan

Yukio Kobayashi
Director, State of Mississippi Japan Representative Office
6th Floor, Yokohama World Porters
2-2-1, Shinko, Naka-ku
Yokohama 231-0001
Japan
Phone: 81-45-222-2047
y.kobayashi.msjp@ywbc.org

Korea

Seok Soon (S.S.) Cho
Director, State of Mississippi Korea Representative Office
A-1711, 406
Teheran-ro, Gangnam-gu (Champs Elysees Center)
Seoul 06192
Korea
Phone: 82-2-548-9125
Cell: +82-10-6376-9127
choss.ms@gmail.com