Community Services

Business and Community Development

Throughout Mississippi, MDA works to enhance community vitality and competitiveness.

Working in collaboration with the state’s local economic development partners, our Community Services and Asset Development Divisions offers a variety of programs and services to create more vibrant municipalities and counties, while enriching the lives of the citizens that call them home.

Asset Development

The Asset Development team works with Mississippi communities to help them recognize, promote and capitalize upon their existing assets through its asset mapping process and by coordinating the efforts of local Main Street Associations. These assets may include natural resources, recreational sites, local eateries, or historical buildings and monuments. Once assets are identified, the team recommends strategies to promote and develop the assets to further strengthen the local community and economy. The division also implements the state’s Hometown Retirement and Certified Retirement Communities programs.

Community Services

Through its grant and loan programs, Community Services provides assistance to qualifying communities to spur economic development and improve the quality of life. Financial assistance is available for public infrastructure needs, such as road, rail, water and drainage improvements. The division provides assistance to help ensure communities’ residents have access to safe, affordable housing. Additionally, the division supports the maintenance and operations of existing emergency shelters and the rapid re-housing of residents following emergencies.

Asset Development Team

Phone: 601.359.3746
Fax: 601.359.1971
assetdevelopment@mississippi.org

Chance McDavid , Division Director
601.359.2659
cmcdavid@mississippi.org

Sonny Thomas , Deputy Director
601.359.9387
sthomas@mississippi.org

Hometown Retirement

Tina Blue , Hometown Retirement Manager
601.359.3447
tblue@mississippi.org

Asset Mapping

Daryl Neely , Asset Mapping, Leadership Training
601.359.9457
dneely@mississippi.org

Aspire Mississippi

Ellen Bourdeaux , Aspire Mississippi Manager
601.359.9333
ebourdeaux@mississippi.org

Community Services Team

Phone: 601.359.3179
For Hearing Impaired: 601.359.3119 (TTY)
Fax: 601.359.3108
community@mississippi.org

Steve Hardin , Division Director
601.359.2366
shardin@mississippi.org

Community Development Bureau

Lisa Maxwell , Bureau Manager
601.359.2498
lmaxwell@mississippi.org

Tange Bozeman , Program Manager
601.359.9490
tbozeman@mississippi.org

Jesse Davis , Program Manager
601.359.2873
jdavis@mississippi.org

Erin Hovanec , Program Manager
601.359.9376
ehovanec@mississippi.org

April Smith , Program Manager
601.359.2859
acsmith@mississippi.org

Carolyn McKinney , Program Manager
601.359.9316
cmckinney@mississippi.org

Compliance Bureau

Ray Robinson , Bureau Manager
601.359.9273
rrobinson@mississippi.org

Antoine Dixon , Program Manager
601.359.9336
adixon@mississippi.org

Tammie Lawrence , Program Manager
601.359.9339
tlawrence@mississippi.org

Frednia Perkins , Program Manager
601.359.9324
fperkins@mississippi.org

Angela Reed , Program Manager
601.359.2351
areed@mississippi.org