Minority & Small Business Team

As the state’s advocate and partner for minority-owned, women-owned, and small businesses, the Minority and Small Business Development Division seeks to enhance economic development in the state of Mississippi by providing technical and financial assistance to minority, women-owned, and small businesses so that they can compete more successfully for federal, state, local government, and commercial contracts.

The Mississippi Procurement Technical Assistance Program (MPTAP) supports our national security and state economic development by ensuring a broad base of capable suppliers for the defense industry. MPTAP helps agencies meet their congressionally mandated procurement goals by connecting federal, state and local agencies with small, minority-, women-, and veteran-owned businesses. The program is also a resource for local and regional DoD operations, connecting them with qualified suppliers for specialized goods or services.

Division main telephone: 601.359.3448
Fax: 601.359.5290
Email: minority@mississippi.org.

Name Phone Email
Robert “Bob” Covington

Chief Community Development & Leadership Officer

601.359.9226 rcovington@mississippi.org
Azelia Scott

Community Development Administrative Assistant

601.359.5081 ascott@mississippi.org
Business Development and Supplier Diversity
Derek Finley Business Development & Supplier Diversity Manager 601.359.2036 dfinley@mississippi.org
LaTonia Shirley Training, Special Projects, Surety Bonds 601.359.6678 lshirley@mississippi.org
LaTisha Thomas Certification, Loans, Marketing, Bids, Solicitations 601.359.2910 lthomas@mississippi.org
Ashley Henderson Certification, Outreach, Bids, Solicitations 601.359.2700 ashenderson@mississippi.org
Open Bids, Solicitations 601.359.5295
Mississippi Procurement Technical Assistance Program
Carol Harris MPTAP Program Manager 601.359.2386 charris@mississippi.org
Joycie Lenoir Procurement Advisor, Business Assistance 601.359.2904 jlenoir@mississippi.org
Sydney Brown Procurement Advisor 601.359.2988 sybrown@mississippi.org
Chioma Anosike Procurement Advisor (Southaven,MS) 662.342.4493 canosike@mississippi.org
Natalie Purvis Procurement Advisor (Meridian, MS) 601.693.1306 ext. 235 npurvis@mississippi.org
The Entrepreneur Center
Open The Entrepreneur Center Manager 601.359.2399
Nerissa Tripp Minority Surety Bond, Minority Loan Program, financial analysis & business planning 601.359.2219 ntripp@mississippi.org
Michael Harris Business start-up, expansion, planning & training 601.359.3420 mharris@mississippi.org
Nash Nunnery Business start-up, expansion, planning & training 601.359.9241 nnunnery@mississippi.org
Open Assistant Manager for NE Mississippi 662.844.5441