Delta Regional Authority

Mississippi participates in the Delta Regional Authority (DRA). Mississippi Development Authority's (MDA) Office of Strategic Initiatives coordinates Mississippi activities and grants in Mississippi's 45 DRA counties.

The Delta Regional Authority is a federal-state partnership serving a 240 county/parish area in an eight-state region. Led by a Federal Co-Chairman and the governors of each participating state, the DRA is designed to remedy severe and chronic economic development distress by stimulating economic development and fostering partnerships that will have a positive impact on the region’s economy. The DRA helps economically distressed communities to leverage other federal and state programs, which are focused on basic infrastructure development and transportation improvements, business development, and job training services. Under federal law, at least 75 percent of the funds must be invested in distressed counties and parishes and pockets of poverty, with 50 percent of the funds earmarked for transportation and basic infrastructure improvements. Participating DRA States are Alabama, Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee.

Mississippi counties served by DRA are Adams, Amite, Attala, Benton, Bolivar, Carroll, Claiborne, Coahoma, Copiah, Covington, DeSoto, Franklin, Grenada, Hinds, Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, Lawrence, Leflore, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Montgomery, Panola, Pike, Quitman, Rankin, Sharkey, Simpson, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tate, Tippah, Tunica, Union, Walthall, Warren, Washington, Wilkinson, Yalobusha, and Yazoo.

For further information on the national program, select Delta Regional Authority or call 888 GO-TO-DRA (888.468.6372).

State of Mississippi Delta Region Development Plan. This 27 page document, produced in October 2004, is available for viewing.

For more information:
Asset Development Group
Office of Strategic Initiatives
Telephone: 601.359.3449
Fax: 601.359.1971